Met Office issues new snow warning across six regions

The Met Office has issued a new weather warning covering half a dozen areas as a cold spell descends on the UK this morning, leaving widespread ice and settled snow.

Forecasters have said six regions and dozens more areas will see snow and ice this evening, with the alert commencing from 6pm and continuing until Sunday morning.

The alert states: “Areas of rain, sleet, and away from immediate coastal areas, snow, are expected to push north and east across the area later this evening and into the early hours of Sunday.

“Whilst not everywhere will see accumulating snow, some places will likely see 1 to 3cm, with 5 to 10cm possible over some hills and mountains of Wales, the Peak District and south Pennines. Ice will be an additional hazard.”

The alert covers six regions in total; the East Midlands, North East England, North West England, Wales, the West Midlands, and Yorkshire & Humber.

We’ll be bringing you the very latest updates, pictures and video on this breaking news story.

For the latest news and breaking news visit: /news

Stay up to date with all the big headlines, pictures, analysis, opinion and video on the stories that matter to you.

Follow our social media accounts here on and @daily_express

  • Support fearless journalism
  • Read The Daily Express online, advert free
  • Get super-fast page loading

Source: Read Full Article