Elon Musk makes big Twitter change as key safety feature is removed

Elon Musk has announced he is taking away X users' ability to block others on the app, saying the feature "doesn't make sense".

The owner of X, formerly Twitter, suggested users utilize the app's 'mute' feature, which removes an account's post from the user's timeline.

The muted user would still be able to follow the account. On the other hand, the "block" feature is heavily favoured by users because it prohibits certain people from following an account, interacting with it and even viewing the account.

READ MORE: Sick bloke having sex with a 1,200lb horse finally caught in act by 'secret camera'

In a reply to Tesla Owners Silicon Valley X page, Musk said: "Block is going to be deleted as a 'feature', except for DMs."

"It makes no sense," he added later.

The tweet he responded to, from a company he owns, asked: “Is there ever a reason to block vs mute someone?”

And users did not seem to be happy about the decision. Leyah Helipern said: "I think this is a terrible idea. I block people for safety reasons all time. Anyone else think this is a terrible idea?

"@elonmusk please reconsider."

Kate Abu said: "Let's be clear: Getting rid of the block feature is an endorsement of harassment. Elon Musk not only wants users to BE harassed, but to have see it too. Cool stuff!

"The block feature on X is described as an ability that helps the user control how they interact with others on the app. Blocking on X helps users restrict certain accounts from following them, seeing their tweets and generally interacting with them."

  • 'Arsonist trawled streets and maliciously ignited 8 cars' in night of 'absolute chaos'

Author Keith Boykin added: "That means more Nazis, racists, sexists, homophobes, xenophobes, bigots, spiteful ex-lovers, unwanted advertisers, and hateful trolls will be coming soon to your comments and on your feed."

Often users will block accounts for certain content, or unusual conduct on the app, which could be harassment or threats made toward them.

When one mutes a user, they can still comment on your tweets. The only difference is that the user won't get notified if a muted account replies to their tweet.

Another approach could involve making one's account private so only followers can view the account activity. X's help website stated: "When you sign up for Twitter, your Tweets are public by default; anyone can view and interact with your Tweets.

"If you protect your Tweets, you’ll receive a request when new people want to follow you, which you can approve or deny.”

After Musk bought Twitter, he strolled through the headquarters and fired about 80% of employees and top execs, some he fired by email.

To stay up to date with all the latest news, make sure you sign up to one of our newsletters here.

Source: Read Full Article