G7 counties: Which countries are in the G7 Summit 2021? Full list of attendees

Joe Biden arrives in the UK for G7 summit

When you subscribe we will use the information you provide to send you these newsletters. Sometimes they’ll include recommendations for other related newsletters or services we offer. Our Privacy Notice explains more about how we use your data, and your rights. You can unsubscribe at any time.

The UK will play host for 2021’s G7 summit as it assumes the presidency for this year. The summit is taking place in Cornwalls’s St Ives, with thousands of staff and security descending on the coastal town as the 13 world leaders prepare to discuss the biggest issues on earth today.

Full list of countries attending

The summit will consist of the Group of Seven, as well as guests.

Here is the full list:

The G7:

  1. Canada – Prime Minister Justin Trudeau
  2. France – President Emmanuel Macron
  3. Germany – Chancellor Angela Merkel
  4. Italy – Prime Minister Mario Draghi
  5. Japan – Prime Minister Yoshihide Suga
  6. UK – Prime Minister Boris Johnson
  7. USA – President Joe Biden

EU representative:

  • Ursula von der Leyen, President of the European Commission
  • Charles Michel, President of the European Council


  • Australia – Prime Minister Scott Morrison
  • India – Prime Minister Narendra Modi
  • South Korea – President Moon Jae-in
  • South Africa – President Cyril Ramaphosa

Why was the G7 formed?

The group was initially formed in 1975 as the G6, before becoming the G7 when Canada joined in 1976.

The group came together as a reaction to tumultuous geopolitical and economic events.

The G7 grew out of an informal gathering of finance ministers from the UK, US, France, Japan and West Germany in the wake of the 1973 oil crisis which threatened to increase the price of oil and cut off supplies.

What does the G7 do?

The idea of the G7 is to respond to the main global issues of the day and formulate policy.

Issues covered include security, gender equality, climate change, trade, health and poverty.

The country holding the G7 presidency can also put topics they would like to see discussed on the agenda.

What is on the agenda this year?

Unsurprisingly, the battle against coronavirus will take centre stage this year.

In a statement ahead of the event, the British government said: “The UK is taking on the Presidency of the G7 at a critical time for the world, and as we prepare to host the COP26 UN Climate Conference in November.

“With new vaccines offering a way to end the pandemic, we will use our G7 Presidency to fight and build back better from coronavirus.”

The main topics on the agenda will be:

1. Global recovery from coronavirus and strengthening resilience against future pandemics

2. Promoting future prosperity by championing free and fair trade

3. Tackling climate change and preserving the planet’s biodiversity

4. Championing shared values

You can read more about what these all mean here.

Source: Read Full Article